Apr 03 2017

Print this Post

Professor Junji Tagami Receives the IADR

Prof. Tagami received the Wilmer Souder Award (one of the IADR Distinguished Scientist Awards) at 95th IADR General Session in March 2017 in San Francisco, CA. WILMER SOUDER AWARD Supported by an endowment provided by the IADR Dental Materials Group Initiated in 1955, this is the oldest of the Science Awards. The award honors Dr. Wilmer Souder, the motivating force in establishing the Dental Section at the National Bureau of Standards (now the National Institute of Standards and Technology), and is designed to perpetuate the scientific ideals which he exemplified, and to encourage interest in dental materials research. The award is made on the basis of scientific achievement of outstanding quality which has advanced or may reasonably be expected to significantly advance dental service to the public. It is intended to confer the highest honor in the field of dental materials research upon those scientists who, through research in this field, bring about outstanding advances in dental health. Established and supported by an endowment provided by IADR’s Dental Materials Group, the award consists of a monetary prize and a plaque. Among the past recipients of the prestigious award are two prominent professors emeritus of TMDU; T. Fusayama and N. Nakabayashi.